Impatiently waiting for Patience.

Patience.

This is something that I severely lack in most areas of my life and have for some time.

Although I have gotten much better at accepting situations presented to me with less anxiety and worry, it doesn’t make being patient any more pleasant! (Again, being a perfectionist does not help here.)
Patience has been on the forefront of my mind a lot lately, especially in the past few months.

noun pa·tience \ˈpā-shəns\

Definition of patience

:  the ability to remain calm when dealing with a difficult or annoying situation, task, or person.(according to Merriam Webster)

I know it’s because I’m now in a new stage of my life with a lot of changes:
I graduated college in April, got my first full time job, chose to chase my dream of becoming an elite runner and began training post collegiate with a new coach.

I’m adjusting to a lot of balancing- finances, training full time, working full time and having some sort of a social life in between there. As a millennial(I know we get a bad rap but we’re not all bad!) balance is so important and having time for myself is needed. And honestly, sometimes I feel so alone.

I feel like I work so hard all by myself and question-where are the fruits from that now?

But that’s partially a lie I tell myself when I am discouraged.

Like I said earlier- being patient isn’t easy.Just like anything worthwhile, it isn’t going to be easy and anything you go after while climbing up the mountain doesn’t always seem clear when your in the middle of it.

With all of that swirling around in my head all the time..staying patient in my training, work, relationships and working hard in where I am right now is the most important thing I can focus on while giving it all to God.

Theodore Roosevelt said-

“Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.”

I’ve really been struggling with that lately. Not that I don’t understand that I am making investments in my future with what I’m doing now while relentlessly working hard at all I do every day but I am so impatient!

This can be a very tricky step for us and dangerously misleading because being impatient poses the thought that we are smarter or better at planning that God.

That simply isn’t true. Think of times where you have waited for God to come through and it’s turned out so much better than anything you could ever imagine? I can think of a few. And he has never come short for me so far.

On the flip side, think about times you have tried to rush something or force something to work. How did that turn out in the end? I know I have definitely had to learn that lesson the hard way a few times too many.

I’ve been reflecting in Psalm 37 all week, just picking it apart and really relating to situations in my life. I would highly recommend that you listen to it on your bible app before bed or read it sometime this weekend if you find yourself lacking patience or being a little bummed about something bringing you down!

“Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him; do not fret when people succeed in their ways, when they carry out their wicked schemes.” (‭Psalm‬ ‭37‬:‭7‬ NIV)

So whatever you are working toward every day, waking up for every day, staying late for, doing an extra rep for, or praying for..don’t stop.

Don’t quit just because you’re overwhelmed with anxiety or impatience. I’m probably much more impatient than you, trust me!!

I would encourage you to go back to the three W’s we talked about in my recent post- “what”,”who”,”why” am I doing this.

You’ll find the reasons to be patient there. And don’t get distracted by anything or anyone negative. Some people just can’t stand to see you do well or shine, don’t let that stop you from being the brightest light they’ve ever seen. Focus on your goals and don’t make excuses.

Lastly, what are you all struggling with being patient for?? Post below. I would love to pray for patience for you all in those areas! Feel free to share!

Leave a Reply

