2016- Becoming the Wolf, the year for me.

FullSizeRender

Before I get a little too far ahead of myself, I want to take a moment to recall some highlights of my 2015- the achievements and the lessons I’ve learned.

What I accomplished in 2015: 

I graduated college and got my degree!!! I graduated from The University of Alabama at Birmingham in April with a broadcast communications degree and sports marketing minor in four years.
I completed 4 full years of being a cross country and track student athlete at Division one schools(transferred to UAB in middle of sophomore year)
I made the deans list with one high B 
at the end of my last semester
I had two very successful internships- one with WBRC Fox 6 News where I learned more about sports broadcasting than ever and had many amazing opportunities to learn & make connections, and one at WJOX 94.5FM to finish out the semester as “skittles  tafoya” a personality given to me as my own.
I got my first “big girl job”- landed my first full time job here in Birmingham shortly after graduation and track ended in the spring.
I somehow managed to start “adulting” by myself- paying bills, buying my own gas and providing for myself for the first time and staying afloat for the last six and a half months!
I began the dream of continuing my passion to improve in my running and found a new post collegiate coach. I’ve been working with resolute running since August after my first post collegiate 5k and have been steadily improving in races.
I became an ambassador for Skechers performance and get to race in their gear and awesome shoes!(check out my Instagram for all of their latest distance shoes)
Things I learned-
I learned to rely on myself and God when things get tough, and in every thing I do.
I learned the importance of never sacrificing my own happiness,wellness, spirit for another person
I learned to let go of toxic people and accept that anything negative in my life won’t allow me to follow the plans God has for me.
I learned that I can forgive but I can’t dumb down my spirit for someone who sucks the life and light out of it.
I learned that being by myself sometimes isn’t all that bad. That it’s actually needed.
I learned that God really really loves me. Even when I make the same irresponsible mistake or decision again and again.
I learned that choosing kindness and love isn’t always the easiest choice, but it’s the most important choice(not just for you).
I learned that in order to be fully awakened in myself and to know myself, that I needed this time alone with just God. Listening to him and being patient while he builds me.
I learned that no matter how many times I fall down and mess up, at least I’m trying. And I get back up and keep trying my best because I know God is always on my side and he’s proud of me even when no one else is.
I learned that when I mess up or let people or things or emotions distract me, I feel upset not only for my heart but because I love Jesus and I know that it upsets him for me.
That hurts me to know I’ve hurt someone who loves me more than I can fathom.
With all of the high points, incredible blessings, horrible heart aches, and constant struggles of 2015 I move on toward a new era-2016.
Not just because it’s a “New Year” and all but I am actually in a pretty BIG transition going into 2016.

This is the first year I’m by myself as an adult, working, paying my own bills for the first time, training my butt off every day, fully “adulting”, not a student anymore, in a different state than my home, with hopes and dreams, and a lot of uncertainty in the future.
I’m transitioning into a “wolf” if you will. A fearless, bold, primal beast in the spirit! 2016 is the year of Me.
2016 brings a new year for me to do anything I want to do and go anywhere I want to go.
 To fearlessly chase down my dreams for my running career and fitness without limits. 
To follow Christ wholeheartedly and to surrender wherever he leads me.
And I don’t mean this in a selfish way at all. I’m talking about being fully alive and awakened in my spirit and aligned that nothing could possibly distract me from the greatness that’s ahead.
 That’s not selfish to chase that and to want it and to get it. That’s what we are supposed to do!!

Let me just share a few of my goals for 2016(no I don’t call them “resolutions” because to me these are all realistic, attainable goals in which I will accomplish):

Financial stability
I’m pretty good with my money and don’t spend outside of my means at all but there are always improvements to be made.
I will save more money for my future in my savings account and cut down on my coffee spending!!(this will be a challenge for real)
I need to establish my credit(so far I have virtually none coming off of college where I was a student athlete and didn’t need a credit card, at least I’m not in debt!!)
I want to move into a new apartment!!(I hate mine now and I want a nicer, quieter place for myself
I will establish my home in AL for good(for now)
Tithing- I’ve been taught to give 10% of my earnings to Christ, I firmly believe that but I haven’t been living that. And faith without action is dead so I will start living by faith in my finances too.
Relationships 
I will never let anyone distract me to the point of sacrificing who I am and the light that I am.
And please excuse the language here but for lack of a better term- I will no longer associate/date/ or aquire a relationship with any Fuckboys ever again.
There is no point to those relationships and it leads to unfulfilled sorrow. 
You’re better than that too, I encourage you to better yourself and leave those in the past.
I will think about what I am doing before I chose to hurt or accept hurt and negativity
I will intentionally be more thoughtful and kind to everyone I encounter(One Matters)
I will be better at reaching out and keeping communication between friends and family open!!(I’m a horrible texter and often forget to communicate during the business of life) but that’s no excuse and you all matter so much to me.
I will talk to God and listen to him more, and actually act when called to.(when he tests me or blesses me) I will trust him.
I will be better at my quiet time and prayer consistency
I won’t treat relationships as “what can I get out of this” but only in a giving and loving way.
With that said, I’m not going to continue any relationship if it distracts me in a negative way or brings my spirit down.
You can still show light and love without sacrificing your light.
Running and Fitness
I want to keep building a solid foundation
and be able to run comfortably 60-70 mile weeks
I want to break 17 minutes in the 5K finally!
I want to
I want to PR in my 10K- 35 minutes??
I want to start racing more competitive races to win $$?
I want to start flirting with the idea of getting an actual real contracted sponsorship at the end of the year.
I want to focus on mainly the 5k and 10k for now! 😉
For other fitness endeavors..some of you close to me know what I’ve been up to lately but something big is coming in 2016 that I can’t wait to announce when I start but being patient for now and I can’t wait to share with you in that!
 
Nutrition and Hydration
Let’s face it- I eat pretty freaking healthy already and I don’t drink “soda” or pop or coke what have you. BUT I have been so bad at keeping myself hydrated in the winter lately.
So I want to be better at staying hydrated with water and juices through the day
I want to start drinking more chia juice!
I want to get juicer too, and be better about my smoothies meal prep for breakfast(been slacking)
I need to increase my protein intake, especially on workout days & stay with one protein powder regularly
Stay consistent in vitamins and supplements I take

Overall, 2016 is going to be a very exciting, challenging, blessed, and an uncertain year for me.

 

As I stated, I’m in a critical transition as a young woman growing and adjusting to figuring out my life. I have a lot of goals and a lot I’ve learned in the last year. I’ve grown up a lot but still have a lot to grow into.
But I have the biggest and best companion anyone could ask for, even when I feel alone and overwhelmed-Jesus.
Whoever you are, wherever you are, whatever you’re dreaming of being or chasing, know that God loves you.
Now go, be a Wolf with me 😉
Wolves are pack animals, they hunt together and travel together.
Like them, surround yourself with the wolves this year, not sheep.
You’re too talented, too loved, and have too much to do in this life than to waste your energy and light surrounded by negativity and people who are not going to build you up and move forward with you.

Make 2016 a year for you to be great in all you do!!

Leave a Reply

