It’s 2016, now what?

 

Now that the glitter and excitement entering the new year have settled, what’s next?

I want to talk a little about the first week of 2016 and what I’ve learned and been really digesting this week.

First, I want to admit that I have had to have a little attitude adjustment with myself.

I confess that I’ve let my emotions get the best of me this week at times and I’ve focused on how frustrated I have been instead of the positive blessings I have this year.

I’m not normally a negative person unless something is really bothering me.

I’m just as passionate about expressing something bothering me as I am about going after what I want. That can be a bad thing for me though because I tend to internalize my stress and don’t like to talk about it.

BUT if I’m overwhelmed within my own thoughts, that can come out in my attitude at times of high stress, which I hate!!

I only want to spread love and light and this week I’ve really been struggling with that because I’ve lost focus on it.

I haven’t lost focus on what I want or forgotten the goals I’ve set for myself.

I have just been more consumed with the frustrating emotions when things haven’t gone exactly my way this week and on where I’m at now; forgetting that every day is a step to where I will be.

Ah, just saying that feels a lot better! 

Taking a step back from the week, the biggest lesson I’ve learned so far in 2016 is this:

You have to actually ACT and do it yourself. Nothing is just going to happen and no one is going to do it for you.

If you want to change what you’re doing or where you are or whatever you want to be doing different in your life, don’t feel sorry for yourself. Just go do it!

That you have to act and make plans for the goals you’ve set out and then…DO IT!

 

It’s scary to make the first step into something new(I know, I’m with you!) But there’s no point in not doing anything and being unsettled about something.

Now that’s a hard pill to swallow if your used to things going your way and getting what you want. 

 

I knew that “adulting” wouldn’t be a cake walk by any means but so far 2016 has been a blunt reality check for me.

Not that things just fall into my lap all of the time, but I’ve never felt so tested and challenged in many areas of my life as I do now.

I work extremely hard in all that I do and I guess this week I sort of felt down because I was waiting for the pressure to ease up a bit after working relentlessly the past few months.

But I know that God is just getting started and building me.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

(‭Jeremiah‬ ‭29‬:‭11‬ NIV)

And I totally trust him in that, but I’m human too and I get frustrated because I’m so impatient!! 
That’s okay to feel that way, but don’t let that own you and distract you from carrying on and being a champ every day.

 

Look, I’m not so arrogant to say that I don’t believe in prayer or that Gods plan isn’t the ultimate plan and that I don’t trust him, but I’m saying this in full agreement with that.

 

There have been a few times this week where I’ve gotten so frustrated with my current circumstance in a few areas of my life that I just didn’t know what I wanted to do.

So I sat and cried and then I prayed about it. I’ve been reflecting all week about my goals for 2016 and this incredible passion flooded my mind and my heart.

 
I realized that I needed to use that passion not to create rage of where I’m at now or negative emotions to just spread around, but that I need to use this passion to propel me into action each day to reach my goals.
I know that nothing I really want to achieve will happen overnight and that greatness in any endeavor won’t be easy at all.
But I’m telling you like I told myself this week, trust the process of where you’re at now while knowing that you WILL get there.
You need to keep focus and maybe even re-focus (like I did this week) on your ultimate goals.
Make sure that each day counts to its fullest and as long as you’re doing something positive to take a step forward each day, you’re doing everything you can do right now.
Be content with that and don’t feel overwhelmed.
I’m going to take some time this weekend to actually sit myself down, and write down my goals(the old fashioned way) and post them places where I know I’ll see them every day.

Then, I’m going to make a list of some steps I need to be taking to achieve them, and omg…I’m going to start acting on those steps!!!

I’m ashamed of the way I let myself focus on the negative emotions this week. It hasn’t stopped me from doing what I need to in order to go after what I want but it has definitely distracted my spirit.

If you’ve felt like I have this week, to take a moment for yourself to sit and be still and write it down and breathe! 

I hope all of your goals are achieved in 2016 too but it starts with your attitude!! That can be the biggest hinderance or the biggest blessing to what you want to accomplish!

So don’t give up if you’re feeling discouraged or bogged down.

Get back up, keep moving and focus on what you need to do.

 

One of my college track coaches always told us this on really tough workout days or races when the pain started to set in and panic would soon come-

Don’t let how you feel determine what you’re capable of.”

He would tell us to focus on the splits we were to hit and to only try to run the times for each lap, not focusing on the pain.

That wouldn’t just make the pain go away or make us forget how uncomfortable we were, but it made it manageable.

It taught us that the goal was more important than the distraction of how we were feeling.

Our journey in life is a lot like that too.

If we can just focus on what we’re going after with each step to get there instead of the distractions, we can reach so much more.

I encourage you all to take a moment and reflect on your first week of 2016 now that the after glow of the party has settled and reality is here.

Are you happy where you are? What are your goals? What are you doing to get there?

Re-focus and go get it!

Leave a Reply

