GO Like Never Before.

 

  

A Detailed product review and all you need to know about Skechers Performance’s distance running shoe line from Fall 2015- Spring 2016! From the perspective of a current post collegiate distance runner training in all of these shoes.

Since around August 2015, I have been training in Skechers Performance distance running shoes. Currently, I am running 60-70 miles a week and racing 5k/10k for NOW!

Of course, two of my most favorite professional distance athletes- Kara Goucher and Meb Keflezighi are sponsored by Skechers Performance.

So it wasn’t hard for me to decide to try some Skechers out when the pros I look up to and strive to run like one day train in Skechers Performance for their vigorous training schedules too.

Like many of you, I will admit as a distance runner, I can be a bit of a snob about the shoes I pick (and rightfully so! we train so hard, we need good shoes to keep us going to perform at our best every day).


During college when I ran cross country and track at UAB, our team got Nike gear. That was pretty awesome obviously. But I never really liked their trainers. Only a few of them suited me and I was always a true fan of the Brooks Launch as my favorite daily mileage trainer. I never thought I would be in a trainer as great as those.

I got the opportunity to try out a pair of the Skechers GOrun Ultra Road shoes in the summer after meeting some of the reps at the Peachtree road race when I was at home in Georgia. I also tried a pair of the Skechers Strada too.

After training the duration of my summer mileage in Skechers Performance and base building some pretty high mileage, my runner snobbery quickly faded. I became a true ambassador for this brand and my feet cannot thank me enough today.

I will now get into the nitty gritty details below of each shoe I have received and train in weekly for my running/training schedule. To preface this, I have the following shoes and will talk about each below: Gorun Ultra Road, Gorun Strada, Gorun Forza, Gorun 4, Gorun Ride 5, Gomeb Speed 3.

Gorun Ultra Road

  

This shoe is perfect if you run higher mileage and need some extra cushion. I mainly use this shoe for my long runs though- once a week. Or I alternate weeks sometimes between these and a pair of my Stradas when I am running 70 mile weeks and my feet need a bit more padding. So, I recommend this shoe for your long runs/ and or a daily trainer.

The Gorun Ultra Road has a unique water drainage outsole system as well. If you look on the bottom sides of the shoe, you’ll see tiny holes. If you have a wet run one day, this helps a LOT!

I remember the first week I was running in these, it started POURING during an 8 mile run. The shoes definitely rose to the occasion and I felt like I was in a commercial or something. They got the job done and didn’t slow me down.

Here are some fun facts about the GorunUltra Road:

  • made with Fitknit technology for a breathable and flexible fit
  • durable, decoupled rubber outsole pattern for abrasion resistance
  • dual-density resalyte midsole provides max cushioning & added response
  • inner support strap for stable and secure fit
  • reflective for night runs!
  • Men’s-9.7 0z(size 9) Women- 7.7 oz(size 7)
  • Offset is 4mm

Overall, the Gorun Ultra Road is a great trainer if you like/ need more support or cushioning and longer runs. Even though these shoes may have more weight and padding than a typical trainer or lighter shoe, they still give you a nice “pop” off the ground when you run. They hug your feet snug too and give you breathing room on a long sweaty run. I like the bouncy fluid feeling running in them. It’s like running on clouds for my feet for my 16 mile runs. This is a more neutral shoe but more stability than the Strada.

Gorun Strada

  

Okay, so I really wanted to save the best for last here, but ahh okay here we go. My Stradas(what I like to refer to them as), are my FAVORITE!!! I love these so much, I am currently rotating between three pairs for my training schedule. I use these as trainers or for my easy runs and daily mileage.

I am running in the Strada anywhere from 4-5 times a week and sometimes for my warm up and cool down on speed/workout days.

I recommend these for basic maintenance runs and getting the mileage in. It depends on how many miles a week you run, but they can last you anywhere from 3-4 months or longer if you run lower mileage.

Remember when I said I would never find a trainer I liked as much as the launch? Well…the Strada has won my heart forever. AND…GET READY, there may or may not be a Strada 2 coming soon!!! If I could horde all the Stradas in the world in my size in every color, believe me I WOULD. That’s how amazing they are for my feet getting all the necessary miles in. This is a neutral trainer shoe:

  • Durable resa-grip outsole for traction and stability
  • mid-foot strike zone promotes stride efficiency
  • layered and supportive upper for secure fit
  • reflective of course!
  • Men’s-10 0z(size 9) Women- 8 oz(size 7)
  • 8 mm offset

Gorun Forza

  

Can you say STABILITY?  This shoe is on the furthest end of the spectrum for stability and security. I recently got this shoe and I have only ran in it a few runs so far. I have had a reoccurring issue with my right arch and this shoe has been supporting that problem for me.

I’ve always ran in a neutral shoe, but I decided to dabble in the staility side with the Forza. So far, they are definitely the most structured shoe in the Skechers Performance line but they are comfortable. That’s pretty hard to find with structure shoes!

They feel a lot higher up running than the other Skechers I train in but the offset is 8mm! And they are a bit heavier, so I would recommend these as a daily trainer/and or a long run shoe for you. The Forza really do offer great support and provide a smooth seamless run.

Another important nugget- if you peek at the inner right side of the shoe(right where my arch issue is) you’ll notice a firm resalyte posting. That’s an incredible feature if you need support there like I do.

  • Two-part midsole with firm Resalyte medial posting, to promote a smooth heel to toe transition
  • Next generation resalyte with lightweight cushioning and added response
  • molded heel counter and inner support strap gives stable/ secure fit
  • seamless, minimal upper gives breathable comfortability
  • reflective!
  • Men’s-10.8 0z(size 9) Women- 8.8 oz(size 7)

Gorun 4

  

These are my Go to racing flats, tempo run flats, and track workout shoes. I like to use the Gorun 4 for any fast runs I have from any distance of 200 meters all the way to a 6 mile tempo or repeats. They are perfect for giving you a little pop while still supporting your feet with enough padding.

I will even use these for a second run sometimes if I have an easy 4 miles in the afternoon because they are light-weight and supportive enough for mileage. These are also a neural shoe. So if you don’t run a lot of mileage you can probably get away with using the Gorun 4 as your primary daily trainer.

I have done several 5Ks in these shoes and I love them. They hug my heel and provide a nice bounce to give me an extra kick at the end. They are so flexible and light too, a very fun shoe to get some fast miles in! You don’t even need to wear socks with these shoes unless you want to. I don’t race with socks in the GoRun4 typically.

  • Resalyte power pillars in the midfoot strike zone
  • comfortable, breathable fit with a sock-like Goknit upper technology
  • Resalyte cushioning on the midsole for protection and responsiveness
  • inner support strap for a stable and secure- fit
  • reflective( also available in GLOW IN THE DARK- NITE OWL style!!)
  • Men’s-7.80z(size 9) Women- 6.0 oz(size 7)
  • Offset 4mm

Gorun Ride 5

  

The Gorun Ride five are my second favorite speed shoe to the Gorun4. They feel and look a little lighter than the Run 4, but just as sexy and fast!!  And surprisingly, they are a tad heavier. Not much, but they offer more support but feel faster!

I use these for my tempo runs, repeats on the track and 200/400 workouts. Anything that requires speed, a nice pop and return with light weight support, the Gorun 5 is your shoe.

  • Increased resalyte midsole for additional impact protection and response
  • midfoot strike zone to promote fluid transition and stride efficiency
  • inner support strap in the upper for stable and secure fit
  • reflective
  • max comfort with minimal upper breathability
  • Men’s-8.4 0z(size 9) Women- 6.7 oz(size 7)
  • 4mm offset

Skechers GoMeb Speed 3

  

Wow. These are probably the sexiest shoes I wear besides my stilettos. Are you surprised with a name like that? These are on the complete opposite stability, weight and cushioned shoe from the Forza. These are a legit RACING SHOE!!

These are literally made for SPEED. I like to use these for faster, shorter reps on the track. I have not raced in them yet, but I am thinking about racing some of my upcoming indoor track races for the mile and 3K in them.

They provide a crazy pop and help your turnover quicken with each step with the sleek light weight frame. I would recommend them for any short, fast workout or race. I wouldn’t go above a 5K in them personally because I like a bit more cushioning and support. But I’m sure they would help you shave seconds off a good 5K PR!

If you want to fly for your next race, this is your racing shoe.

  • high performance, sleek fitting racing flat
  • Dupont Derlin speed plate for quick response with structure/stability in midfoot
  • Unique Goknit technology for upper breathable, comfortable support
  • Hotmelt upper detail to keep foot stable and secure
  • Men’s-7.2 0z(size 9) Women- 5.3 oz(size 7)
  • 4mm offset

 I hope my brief product review of each of these Skechers Performance Division shoes has helped you shake off any preconceived thoughts about Skechers. These are all unique in what they offer to you as a distance runner.

I am very picky about my training, as any elite runner should be who wants to reach the next level. I would not advocate or suggest anything to any other runner that I would not try myself! So, me being an ambassador for Skechers Performance is not the goal of why I am writing this for you.

I just wanted to share my opinions on each shoe after training in them all for a few months and let everyone know how they have benefited my training. One thing I really appreciate about Skechers Performance’s shoes is that I literally have all my training needs covered:

I have a shoe for my long run- the Ultra Roads/and Forza, I have a go to easy run shoe- the Strada, I have three different workout/speed/racing shoes- the GoRun4, Go run Ride 5, and the GoMeb Speed 3! They all work beautifully alternating in training throughout the week for me. I encourage you to pick up a pair soon, start with the Strada like I did for an easy run. Then Go from there!

Skechers Performance has many exciting products coming in 2016 and I cannot WAIT to see the brand blow up and take off! Don’t miss out on this, part of training is trying new things and finding your best fit with what works for you.  Skechers Performance could be the training asset you need to give your hard workouts an edge with the right shoe.

GO Like Never Before this year!

 

Leave a Reply

