Grammar Nazi

  (Apologies for the rash humor)

 Okay,

I know that I am not always perfect with my own grammar, especially if I’m in a frantic rush.(also the iPhone does a great job screwing my sentences up on here!) 

But today on my lunch break I couldn’t let this one pass me up. 

As I was standing in line at smoothie king, I noticed a white board with some pictures and a sentence that really annoyed my OCD:

“I hope your day and smoothie is awesome!”

  I waited patiently in line and I finally couldn’t take it any more. 

When I got to the counter, I asked the guy behind the cash register if he noticed anything wrong with the sign.

He replied, “I see everything wrong with that sign”

So, he handed me a pink marker and told me I had permission to fix it.

I then proceeded to the white board and gave a brief lesson on singular and plural sentence structure. “Is” and “are” are both auxiliary verbs of the root-“to be”. The sentence was plural with the two nouns used so I felt this was right.

In other words, you must use ” is”for singular sentences and “are” for plural!

(Blame all of my language arts teachers and literature professors..and maybe it doesn’t help being in broadcast)

I crossed out the word “is” and replaced it with the correct form-“are”:

“I hope your day and smoothie are awesome!”

I felt so relieved that no one would have to endure the torture I did while standing in line. 

As I happily frolicked to my car, the gentleman that was behind me in line grinned and laughed.

I asked him if I was being rude and he said- 

“No it was cute!”

LOL crisis averted everyone. 

Just another day in the life of Lolo saving the world one verb at a time. 

Have a blessed day y’all!

Now I can run my track workout tonight peacefully knowing others are learning more everyday too.

Leave a Reply

