To the woman that says-“I quit!” 

  

Tonight while I was at the gym finishing up my strength training circuit a woman around my age was sat on the bench behind me with half her earphones hanging out of her ear.

I noticed she was staring at me in the mirror. When I placed the weights down, she asked if I was an athlete. 
I told her I ran for UAB but now I’m running post collegiate and running for Skechers performance. 

She shook her head and told me that I had an amazing body. I was grateful for her compliment(I work my ass off!)

Looking down, she said she could never do that..

I quickly replied, “of course you can!! It takes a lot of hours and hard work but it doesn’t happen over night”. 

I continued finishing my circuit but my mind was bothered by her comments and complete self doubt.

I thought about how many times I had compared myself to others too.

Especially in my sport, it’s so easy to compare yourself to someone else’s running ability or PRs.

If you’re a woman it’s even more pressure. It’s not enough that we face the unrealistic fantasies that men expect of us on the reg but we like to tear down and belittle our own kind much more.

STOP.

Stop comparing yourself to another person who is on a different journey, has different goals and is only in a different spot in fitness or whatever category of pursuit you chase.

Do you know where I would be now if I had let every negative thought of comparison enter my mind dictate my decisions in my running or what I decided to do in my life??

I can tell you I sure as hell wouldn’t be where I’m at now or headed where I know I’m going!

I know I’m not as fast, or talented
or strong as some of
my competition-yet.

But I can tell you that I have the faith in myself and what I’m blessed with now to go after what I want and I know I’ll be there some day.

Who cares where someone else is or what they are doing.

They are not you. 

There will never be another “you” so embrace yourself and love who you are and believe that you can do what you say you can do.

I really wanted to lovingly slap that girl in the face and look at her and tell her that SHE has an amazing body and she is capable of what she decides her mind to tell her. She just didn’t believe that yet.

I hate seeing discouragement and giving up. It’s like a disease.

Last weekend I ran the biggest race of my life so far- the USA 15K championship Gate River Run in Jacksonville,FL. 

It was my first elite race in Skechers uniform and the longest race I’ve ran so far and I was injured.

I could have scratched or decided not to finish. 

But quitting is a word I hate. I hate hearing it and I sure as hell wasn’t going to do that!

I was going to crawl through the finish if I had to but I was determined to finish the race even if it meant a bad time for me.

I just don’t like giving up and I don’t make a habit of it.

Maybe that’s my competitiveness seeping out but I can’t stand for anyone to feel that way about themselves when there’s already enough hateful people to do that for them.

The young woman in the gym took out her head phones and said, “I quit. I can’t do this”. And shrugged her shoulders and left.

You know what, she was right.

No, she couldn’t do it because she chose not to believe in herself right then.

Sometimes we need encouragement and as women we should be understanding and supportive of that. 

But really..as humans we need to love and rally around each others dreams as well.

Don’t let another persons success ever stop you from reaching your own.

I know it’s easy to do but that’s just selfish human nature. You can chose not to act on that.

Instead, be so extremely focused on reaching your own goals and improving yourself that anything around you just becomes noise and not a distraction.

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well

-Psalm 139:13-14

Leave a Reply

