Strength Training & Aging

Jonathan Goodman is a personal trainer I follow and subscribe to his fitness posts & website weekly theptdc.com. I always like to read his new tips & learn some of his theories as I am a new trainer still improving myself for my clients needs.

Many individuals 65 or older are becoming more active and engaging in strength training now more than ever!

This is so exciting to me as a trainer because it’s so important for us all to continue to maintain and adapt our training for our respective age. 

This article from Jonathan Goodman’s site is a perfect tool to use for clients 65 and older: https://www.theptdc.com/2017/01/how-to-assess-older-clients/

This post lists a few tests to perform for balance and flexibility; as well as the muscles that need the most attention in order for the aging clients to perform normal functional activities throughout their week.

According to this article, “people in their 80s have 40% less strength than people in their 20s”. That’s crazy to think about how our strength gradually declines so much after 50!! But that doesn’t mean there’s nothing we can do to aid this dilemna.

I’m elated to know that there are so many older adults improving their fitness and I see it every day at my gym as a trainer.

Targeting the main muscle groups like: glutes,legs, arms, shoulders, trunk and hips only makes sense to strengthen so that these clients can perform daily activities like-getting out of bed in the morning, walking up and down stairs and maintaining an upright posture so they won’t fall. 

Falling seems to be a huge risk for the elderly. The three “functional tests” for older clients tests the quality of movement and shows the risk that a client may have for falling or not having adequate strength.

  • Up and go test
  • Sit to stand test
  • Functional squat test 

 Risks that the aging population face can be stopped through strength training and properly informing clients on the changes that they’re facing. This article highlights each age category and the directions for the tests listed above.

I completely agree that strength training is even more important to older people to stop muscular atrophy and improve balance and coordination. 
I’ll definitely be incorporating some of these tests and tips for my older clients in the future. 

Sorry for not posting a “Fitness Friday” topic last week I was battling a sinus infection and didn’t have any creative juices available for you all. I’ll be posting more fitness tips of my own as well in the near future but I wanted to post this one too because I found it relevant for my learning and thought many of you may benefit reading this little snippet too!

Happy training and Fitness Friday fam!

Leave a Reply

