Simple, Healthy living tips & checklist for a busy week!


Staying on top of a healthy lifestyle between work, home life, and all of our other obligations throughout the week can be a real struggle! Many of us simply neglect taking time to devote to planning healthy eating, getting enough rest and taking a minute to set our priorities in order.


Fine tuning your eating and living a healthy lifestyle is important for all of us but even more so for athletes and active people.

I’ve found a few helpful tools this week I’d like to share. As a new personal trainer, this week was my first full week on the schedule at the YMCA where I currently work as a health coach and trainer. I’ve already learned a lot from my amazing supervisors and new family at my branch.

One resource I found, in the personal trainer office there’s a slew of handouts that contain information ranging from stress, eating tips, fitness suggestions and home workout tips.

This week, I’d like to share some for overall healthy lifestyle and healthy eating for those of us who struggle with maintaining a balanced plan for busy weeks we face.

It can feel like wave after wave crashing against you, week by week, and instantly you’ve lost track of your fitness regimen. Eating habits fall by the waste side and you’re so tired, you just go from one task to the next, forgetting about taking care of yourself first. I’ve been there too, trust me. But if we are to live a balanced life; an enjoyable and joyful life, we need to do better.

So, first I want you to look at these TWO survey checklist handouts & really be honest with where you know you’re at with overall lifestyle & eating(the second sheet!!) then keep reading for some great tips!:)


In this handout below I’d like to share a little refresher for all of us to do during the week: it’s called “portion-proof your environment” but really it’s just a few awesome tips to pack in your bag throughout the week to help you kick butt!!

 

I really love that these handouts focus on the SMART goal system. All goals are-

  • Specific

  • Measurable

  • Attainable

  • Realistic

  • Timed

This next handout relates to the SMART goal focus too, not just eating habits and planning. It’s one of my favorite in this packet-“Boost your metabolism”

  


Okay, I know that’s a LOT of info! I’m here to help remember? 😉 I just share what I know and read, research & if I find it helpful..hey maybe they will too! Let me share.

Last tip I’ll post is one regarding a topic I’ve had a lot of questions on this week and really all the time. “Lauren, I want to eat healthy but I don’t have time and I don’t know what to eat!”

Well friend, https://www.choosemyplate.gov has all you need for a baseline of proper nutrition.

This is what your plate “should” look like now, not that old inaccurate pyramid from elementary school. 

Last picture I SWEAR!! Lol then I’ll let y’all get some sleep & rest! 🙂 I hope my tips have been helpful to you all at least a little. But I know you’re all smart and already know and do these! So please share, comment and let me know what you want to see posted for next weeks #FitnessFriday

Leave a Reply

