Stay in your lane!

Often times whenever I had track practice in high school or even college, someone would inevitably find themselves in the way on the track as a train of distance runners were blazing by in a workout.

Our coach, or the front runner would simply yell-“TRACK!!!” Or “LANE 1!!” And immediately, everyone knew to move out of lane one.

 

It’s important to stay focused on the lane you’re in so you don’t get knocked off balance or lose sight of your own goals.

If we get too distracted by what’s going on in the other lanes around us, we become distant and weary of our own goals; fixated by what’s around us and not helping ourselves move forward.

I’ve been getting a lot of comments recently about how “little” I am. When I tell some people that I’m a personal trainer they expect a “bigger” bulkier person I guess.

One lady even said,”well you’re a tiny little thing aren’t you?”, while I was going to meet one of my clients on the floor.

Well, I’m also a competitive distance runner and I run 70 or more miles a week. This week I’ll hit 90 miles as I’m inching up the volume and intensity focusing on the half marathon in my racing future. I do my own strength training that’s supportive to my running training cycle.
I’m here to tell you that your appearance doesn’t always define your strength and everyone is training for something different! So comparing yourself to others in the gym or sizing people up makes no sense and it’s insecure in my opinion.

Body builders do not look like distance runners and I do NOT look like a body builder because we each train differently and have different goals.
I do my own strength training 2-3 times a week in the gym but everything I do inside the gym is to respect and improve my running. That’s my training and my goal. You have to have tunnel vision in a sense to ignore other people’s comments or opinions of your training. You’re not training to appease anyone, you’re training to reach your own goals.
Of course my clients training is not at all what I do because they have their own goals and needs.

I just wanted to share that you can be “small” but still have incredibly strong and defined muscles that support whatever you’re training for. You can also be “bigger” than some people think is acceptable and still be beautiful and strong.

One of my friends- Nicole, recently started working out and training for gymnastics. She posted a lovely picture & message on her insta & facebook about her own body image and how proud of herself she was. I think we can all learn from her positive self talk and motivation!

 

It’s a very common misconception that anyone in a gym or personal trainer should look like they split their week into- “leg day”, “chest day” ect..well leg day is every day for me!!
I also want to encourage anyone reading this post to accept small victories. Whatever day your having in your fitness or training is a good day if you make even one step forward. I always tell my clients- where you’re at not isn’t where you’ll be. Stay committed and believe in yourself. I always make them give me one positive comment in place of a negative one.

It’s alright to feel impatient and discouraged at times but don’t let that be your focus. Use it to be better.

Focusing on the negative things or comparing yourself to another person makes no sense at all and doesn’t help you reach your goals.


A truly successful athlete doesn’t have time to criticize another athlete or obsess over another persons training or body image.
They focus on each day and making themselves better in whatever way they can that day.


Let’s all do that from now on, stay in your lane. And encourage one another instead of trolling on someone who you know nothing about or what they’re training for or going through.
Enjoy YOUR training and focus on YOU and respect everyone for where they’re at and their goals being different. There are all kinds of “strong” out there. Own yours & don’t get distracted.

Leave a Reply

